Lou’s Top Picks

An appearance in Mike Shevdon’s next novel. Are you kidding me? That’s brilliant. I’ve been a huge fan of Mike’s since I heard about “Sixty-One Nails”, and I love his fresh take on urban fantasy, his clear narrative and his sharp characterisation. You’ll be in good hands, I promise.

Chet Williamson’s donation of KAIKON is outstanding. An incredibly rare book that ties in beautifully with the force behind this auction, given that the stories are set in Japan. It’s a wonderful book – the kind of thing I’d love to have on my shelves.

The original comic artwork. This is a true one-off, specially put together by a collective of small-press artists for this auction. You won’t get this anywhere else, so if you’re a fan – or you just want something that little bit special (alright: a lot special) this is the one to go for.

The Dark Central Station horror grab-bag is also an amazing item: all those books! Vampires, zombies, ghosts…. it’ll keep you sleeping with the lights on for months

I’m cheating with my last one: I’m picking a couple of lots and tying them together. Yes, it’s the editorial services of the Solaris and Abaddon team: Jonathan Oliver, David Moore and our very own Jenni Hill. These guys know their stuff: they love genre – and if you’re trying to get a foot in the door, getting professional editorial notes is one of the best ways to make sure your work stands the very best chance when you submit to an agent or publisher. Every one of these three is worth a bid – they’re all lovely. (Plus, we’d really like to see what happens in their office once bidding gets underway….)

 

About Genre for Japan

Set up by a group of genre fans & professionals, our aim is to raise money for the BRC's Japan Tsunami appeal by auctioning special items donated by the SFF field.
This entry was posted in about, genre for japan. Bookmark the permalink.