Item 94: rare copy of JAPAN TOMORROW by Ian Watson

The highest bidder will receive a copy of JAPAN TOMORROW by Ian Watson (Bunken Extensive Reading Series 1977), including stories and pictures.

This is a rare collector’s item – donated directly by the author – so don’t miss your chance!

Minimum Bid: £30.00

– donated by Ian Watson

As per Ian’s email:

I just heard about genreforjapan and I’d like to offer a possibly “rare” book: Japan Tomorrow, by Ian Watson, Bunken Extensive Reading Series, 1977, pp 112, of which 88 pp are a Preface followed by original fiction by me, pp 89 – 112 being notes by editor Professor Ken-Ichi Kato. The fiction is written in fairly simple English for use in high schools as a teaching aid. “With Illustrations by the Author” — in fact these were by my wife Judy Watson; I forget why the publishing decision was made to credit me. They’re rather good, and amusing. The final section is called “After the Earthquake” but without the horrible consequences of recently. I’ve attached a jpg of the very functional cover. The book sold several thousand copies a year for several years, but I doubt if anyone outside Japan who’s interested in my SF has ever seen it.

As to value, well I previously wrote another in the same series called Japan: A Cat’s Eye View (Bunken, 1969), which was actually my first book. I saw a signed copy of that in a rare book shop off Charing Cross Road about 20 years ago, at 70 Pounds (sold to them by the guy I presented a copy to🙂

About Genre for Japan

Set up by a group of genre fans & professionals, our aim is to raise money for the BRC's Japan Tsunami appeal by auctioning special items donated by the SFF field.
This entry was posted in rare and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Item 94: rare copy of JAPAN TOMORROW by Ian Watson

  1. Open for bidding: please place your bids!

  2. Kari Sperring says:

    £35

  3. Tom Hunter says:

    Go on then, £40

  4. Kari Sperring says:

    £45…

Comments are closed.